Georgia Highlands College

Office of the Dean

Dr. Todd Jones VP for Student Affairs & Campus Dean
706.295.6335
tjones@highlands.edu

Tammy Nicholson – Senior Administrative Assistant
706.295.6335
tnicholson@highlands.edu

        
Customer Service Representatives

Beverly Fleming
706.204.2291
bfleming@highlands.edu

Mary Ann Sailors
706.204.2298
msailors@highlands.edu

Linda DeGrate - Switchboard Operator
706.802.5000
ldegrate@highlands.edu

        
Enrollment Management Staff

Kristie Birdsong  Admissions Recruiter
706.204.2281
kbirdsong@highlands.edu

Christopher Wheelus  Enrollment Management Specialist
706.802.5015
cwheelus@highlands.edu

Student Services

Angela Wheelus Director & Student Success Counselor
706.368.7707 (current students only)
awheelus@highlands.edu

Kim Linek Disabilities Specialist
706.368.7536
klinek@highlands.edu

John Spranza Student Life Coordinator
706.368.7721
jspranza@highlands.edu

Eileen Walker Academic Advisor (current students only)
706.802.5103
ewalker@highlands.edu

Louvonia Johnson-Boone WIA Coordinator
706.368.7768
lojohnson@highlands.edu

Tracey EsmannWIA Coordinator
706.368.7804
tesmann@highlands.edu

Melinda Ewers King – Financial Aid Counselor
706.368.7742
mewers@highlands.edu

   

Glossary of Terms

Vice President for Student Affairs – Serves as executive administrator across all GHC locations for the departments of Admissions & Registrar, Financial Aid, Academic Advising, Student Support Services and Workforce Investment Act.

Campus Dean – Serves as the senior administrator for campus enrollment management operations and staff including customer service representatives, admissions recruiters, enrollment management specialists and student life coordinators.

Senior Administrative Assistant – Provides direct administrative support to VPSA and GHC-Floyd Campus Dean. Assists new and current students and visitors in identifying proper contacts and establishing efficient communication.

Customer Service Representative – Serves as the first point of contact for basic information and assistance with admissions, enrollment/registrar documentations and finical aid questions.

Admissions Recruiter – Assists prospective students and parents with the application process and requirements, financial aid and other enrollment-related questions. Provides campus tours by appointment and coordinates dual enrollment program for high school students.

Enrollment Management Specialist – Addresses application and financial aid questions for new students and assists current students with any enrollment-related questions.

Student Success Counselor – Advises currently enrolled students by appointment with career, educational and/or personal concerns.

Disability Specialist – Provides accessible programs, services and reasonable accommodations for students with a documented, qualifying disability. Students and/or parents should schedule an appointment at least two months prior to the start of the term.

Student Life Coordinator – Coordinates orientations, student life organizations, activities and leadership programs. Advises student government and trains representatives for college committees. Coordinates and enforces student judicial processes.

Academic Advisor – Assists currently enrolled students with making educational decisions regarding class schedules and choosing an appropriate program of study.

Workforce Investment Act (WIA) Coordinator – Assists eligible adults and recently dislocated workers for re-entry into the workforce through federally funded support of retraining and education in targeted areas of employment approved by the State.

Financial Aid Counselor – Evaluates students’ eligibility for scholarships, loans and grant funds. Answers questions related to the financial aid processes and policies and assists students with special circumstances.

 



© 2014 Georgia Highlands College