Emergency Network Maintenance Window Outage Friday Evening - Midnight-Sat 8AM Please refer to the campus closings page for details.
Home > Academic Divisions > Division of Social Sciences Business and Education > History
Printer Friendly Version

History

Welcome to the Division of Social Sciences program of study in History. Georgia Highlands College offers an Associate of Arts degree in History with a broad liberal arts background based on an academic perspective. We are accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools, commonly referred to as SACS

At Georgia Highlands College, the study of History offers a number of options for the student.  We primarily focus on courses that provide one with a broad overview of historical subjects, with surveys in World History, Western Civilization, and United States History.  We also provide courses in more specialized topics such as the History of Minorities in the United States, and interdisciplinary studies on particular subjects. .  

Our course of study not only emphasizes content knowledge, but also focuses on the development of historical and critical thinking skills that a student can take with him or her and use in various situations throughout a lifetime.

Students and graduates of the program can go on to traditional four-year colleges and universities to obtain baccalaureate degrees. History provides an excellent preparation for careers in education, public policy, politics, international studies, journalism, the practice of law, and a number of other careers.


History Faculty:
NamePrimary CampusOfficePhoneEmailWebsite
Bronson Long Floyd  F141  706-368-7619  blong@highlands.edu  Website
Barbara Moss Marietta  232  678-872-8541  bmoss@highlands.edu  Website
Charles Hight Cartersville    706-295-6300  chight@highlands.edu  Website
Dempsey Kerce Floyd    706-295-6300  dkerce@highlands.edu  Website
Jayme Feagin Paulding  409  678-946-1019  jfeagin@highlands.edu  Website
Jack Harris Cartersville    706-295-6300  jharris@highlands.edu  Website
Karen Huggin Marietta  232  678-872-8540  khuggin@highlands.edu  Website
Laura Musselwhite Floyd  F-126  706-204-2368  lmusselw@highlands.edu  Website
Michael Bergquist Douglasville    678-872-4200  mbergqui@highlands.edu  Website
Robert Page Floyd  F-121c  706-368-7615  rpage@highlands.edu  Website
Steve Blankenship Cartersville  256-B  678-872-8026  sblanken@highlands.edu  Website
Shannon Bontrager Cartersville  254 C  678-872-8049  sbontrag@highlands.edu  Website

Page last updated: December 13, 2010