Home > Academic Divisions > Division of Humanities > English
Printer Friendly Version

English

Good reading and writing skills are essential for academic and professional success. English is one of the top majors for pre-law students and future educators. An English degree can also lead to a career in editing, copywriting, technical writing, public relations, and more. Georgia Highlands College offers English courses in composition, creative writing, and literature.

Composition I (ENGL 1101) and Composition II (ENGL 1102) offer students the opportunity to improve their English grammar, hone research and essay writing skills,  and  begin an exploration of literature and literary analysis. These courses are part of Area A of the Core Curriculum.  Literature courses, including World Literature I & II, British Literature I & II, American Literature I & II, and African-American Literature, expose students to a variety of cultures and ideas via the written word. They facilitate both creative and critical thinking and reinforce writing skills acquired in Composition I & II.  Any of these courses can be used to satisfy the  Area C  literature survey requirement.

For students interested in creative writing, Creative Writing I &II can be used as a Humanities electives or to fulfill area F requirements in several majors. Students may also submit their work for possible publication in GHC’s literary magazine, Old Red Kimono. The ORK features writings and artwork of GHC students and sponsors the annual "I Love GHC" photography contest.

English Faculty:

NamePrimary CampusOfficePhoneEmail
Jesse Bishop Cartersville  327  678-872-8093  jebishop@highlands.edu 
Cynthia Davidson Cartersville  311  706-368-7639  cdavidso@highlands.edu 
Rachel Wall Cartersville  213  678-872-8051  rwall@highlands.edu 
Leslie Johnston Cartersville  311  678-872-8116  ljohnsto@highlands.edu 
Jessica Lindberg Cartersville  311A  706-346-9135  jlindber@highlands.edu 
Jeffrey Kozee Cartersville  215  678-872-8079  jkozee@highlands.edu 
Jacob Sullins Cartersville  N228  678-872-8532  jsullins@highlands.edu 
Abigail Greenbaum Douglasville  134  706-368-7639  agreenba@highlands.edu 
Carla Patterson Floyd  F-162  706-368-7625  cpatters@highlands.edu 
Nancy Applegate Floyd  F-170  706-368-7702  napplega@highlands.edu 
Kristie Kemper Floyd  F-136  706-368-7626  kkemper@highlands.edu 
Frank Minor Floyd  F-169  706-368-7634  fminor@highlands.edu 
Cindy Wheeler Floyd  F-166  706-295-6307  cwheeler@highlands.edu 
Rick Bombard Marietta  230  678-872-8532  rbombard@highlands.edu 
John Kwist Paulding  409  678-946-1033  jkwist@highlands.edu 
Michelle Abbott Paulding  P406  678-946-1017  mabbott@highlands.edu 
Page last updated: August 20, 2014